PRESENT: Greg Benton, Livingston District

Kevin W. Marshall, Berkeley District

Timothy J. McLaughlin, Chancellor District

David Ross, Courtland District Paul D. Trampe, Salem District

Chris Yakabouski, Battlefield District

ABSENT: Gary F. Skinner, Lee Hill District

STAFF PRESENT: Mark B. Taylor, County Administrator

Karl Holsten, County Attorney Aimee R. Mann, Deputy Clerk

Dr. Trampe called the meeting to order at 4:30 p.m. and began with the presentation of colors by the Spotsylvania High School ROTC followed by the pledge of allegiance. Dr. Trampe gave the invocation.

Without objection, Dr. Trampe appointed Mr. Yakabouski as acting Vice Chairman.

#### APPROVAL OF AGENDA

On a motion by Mr. Yakabouski and passed 6 to 0 with Mr. Skinner absent, the Board approved the agenda as presented.

VOTE:

Ayes: 6 Mr. Benton, Mr. Marshall, Mr. McLaughlin, Mr. Ross

Dr. Trampe and Mr. Yakabouski

Nays: 0

Absent: 1 Mr. Skinner

Abstain: 0

# **PUBLIC PRESENTATIONS**

None

## **PUBLIC HEARINGS**

SUP18-0001 – Sustainable Property Holdings, LLC (sPower Solar Energy Facility Site A)(Livingston Voting District)

The Planning Commission recommended denial with a 5-2 vote.

Staff recommended that the Board adopt the Resolution of Approval - Staff Conditions.

Ms. Parrish presented.

Charlie Payne, counsel on behalf of applicant: Gave an overview of the projects and stood to answer any questions.

Dr. Trampe declared the public hearing opened.

The following citizens spoke in favor: Vanessa Miler, Beth Granger, Chris West, Sarah Meadows, Daniel Pemberton, Helen Pemberton, Ronald Grandis, Erin Gossman, Kalea Wilson, Jim McCloud, Augustus Cotera, Fred Meadows, Amory Fisher, Jim Meadows, Janice Meadows, Himanshoo Bhat, Jason Williams, Bill Ridge, Jay Fix, Dave Kula, Aaron Dobynes, Bill Mitchell, and Gloria Hinkle.

The following citizens spoke in opposition or with concerns: Russ Mueller, Kirk Byers, Williams Stewart, Michael O' Bier, Roseanne Rainville, Vivian Stanley, Senator Bryce Reeves, Valerie Ackerman, Kathy Lovello, Kevin McCarthy, Moya Doss, Trae Taylor, Ron Morris, Rick Schwartzman, Charmaine Mueller, Mary Parsons, Kathleen Hayden, Michael Anastasio, Lee Fox, Lynn Smith, Lew Sherman, Dave Hammond, Mike Berkeley, Doris Balut, Mike Mikolosko, Irv Boyles, David Walsh, Sean Fogarty, John Offner, Alfred King, Kendra Zuwaski, Raymond Bell, Dorothy Miller, Barbara Waterman, Dalton Lilly, Sherry Garner, Michael Aytes, John Goodrich, Jim Fulton, Smoky Greene, Richard Genaille, Deborah Fox, Sue Taormina, Judy Genaille, Tony Taormina, Connie Schwartzman, Pam Rizzo, John Taylor, Kevin Schiedel, Al Palmer, Judy Walsh, Terry Thompson, Cynthia Stalker, Joanne Booth, Kim Wyman, Sharon Brill, Stephanie Cronin, Stephen Kerr, Dave Hofmeister, Keri McHugh, Susan Gill, Nancy McNamara, Nick Byram, Stephen Smith, Janice Smith, Margaret Brewer, Joyce Butler-Washington, Dale Swanson, Jade Gilbert, Julie Gilbert, Lester Layman, Stephen Doss, Eric Sbule and Audrey Camille.

Charlie Payne, counsel on behalf of applicant: He addressed concerns raised by citizens.

Dr. Trampe declared the public hearing closed.

The Board took a brief recess.

SUP18-0002 – Sustainable Property Holdings, LLC (sPower Solar Energy Facility Site B)(Livingston Voting District)

The Planning Commission recommended approval with conditions with a 4-3 vote.

Staff recommended that the Board adopt the Resolution of Approval - Staff Conditions.

Ms. Parrish presented.

Charlie Payne, counsel on behalf of applicant: Gave an overview of the projects and stood to answer any questions.

Dr. Trampe declared the public hearing opened.

The following citizens spoke in favor: Dick Meadows and Dave Meadows.

The following citizens spoke in opposition or with concerns: Russ Mueller, Michael O'Bier, John Goodrich, Vivian Stanley, Sean Fogarty, Mike Mikolosko, Mike Anastasio, Kevin McCarthy, Dave Hofmeuster, Lester Breman, Melissa Watson, Lori Tucker, David Hammond, Keri McHugh, Audrey Camille and Sharon Robeth.

Charlie Payne, counsel on behalf of applicant: He addressed concerns raised by citizens.

Dr. Trampe declared the public hearing closed.

SUP18-0003 – Sustainable Property Holdings, LLC (sPower Solar Energy Facility Site C)(Livingston Voting District)

The Planning Commission recommended denial with a 4-3 vote.

Staff recommended that the Board adopt the Resolution of Approval - Staff Conditions.

Charlie Payne, counsel on behalf of applicant: He addressed concerns raised by citizens.

Dr. Trampe declared the public hearing closed.

The following citizens spoke in favor: Dave Meadows and Rupert Farley.

The following citizens spoke in opposition or with concerns: Michael O'Bier, John Goodrich, Vivian Stanley, Lesser Breman, Sean Fogarty, and Kevin McCarthy.

Charlie Payne, counsel on behalf of applicant: He addressed concerns raised by citizens.

Dr. Trampe declared the public hearing closed.

Mr. McLaughlin requested staff compile a list of all citizens' concerns and sPower responses to those concerns.

On a motion by Mr. McLaughlin and passed 6 to 0 with Mr. Skinner absent, the Board continued SUP18-0001 – Sustainable Property Holdings, LLC (sPower Solar Energy Facility Site A)(Livingston Voting District) to the next Board meeting.

#### VOTE:

Ayes: 6 Mr. Benton, Mr. Marshall, Mr. McLaughlin, Mr. Ross

Dr. Trampe and Mr. Yakabouski

Navs: 0

Absent: 1 Mr. Skinner

Abstain: 0

On a motion by Mr. Yakabouski and passed 6 to 0 with Mr. Skinner absent, the Board tabled SUP18-0002 – Sustainable Property Holdings, LLC (sPower Solar Energy Facility Site B)(Livingston Voting District) to the next Board meeting.

VOTE:

Ayes: 6 Mr. Benton, Mr. Marshall, Mr. McLaughlin, Mr. Ross

Dr. Trampe and Mr. Yakabouski

Nays: 0

Absent: 1 Mr. Skinner

Abstain: 0

On a motion by Mr. Yakabouski and passed 6 to 0 with Mr. Skinner absent, the Board tabled SUP18-0002 – Sustainable Property Holdings, LLC (sPower Solar Energy Facility Site B)(Livingston Voting District) to the next Board meeting.

VOTE:

Ayes: 6 Mr. Benton, Mr. Marshall, Mr. McLaughlin, Mr. Ross

Dr. Trampe and Mr. Yakabouski

Nays: 0

Absent: 1 Mr. Skinner

Abstain: 0

### **ADJOURNMENT**

On a motion by Mr. Yakabouski and passed unanimously, the Board adjourned its meeting at 1:20 a.m.

VOTE:

Ayes: 6 Mr. Benton, Mr. Marshall, Mr. McLaughlin, Mr. Ross

Dr. Trampe and Mr. Yakabouski

Nays: 0

Absent: 1 Mr. Skinner

Abstain: 0

Mada D. Taadan

Mark B. Taylor

Clerk to the Board of Supervisors