PRESENT: Deborah H. Frazier, Salem District

Barry K. Jett, Livingston District Kevin W. Marshall, Berkeley District

Timothy J. McLaughlin, Chancellor District

David Ross, Courtland District Gary F. Skinner, Lee Hill District Chris Yakabouski, Battlefield District

STAFF PRESENT: Ed Petrovitch, County Administrator

Aimee R. Mann, Deputy Clerk

Chairman Marshall called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Supervisor Jett led the Pledge of Allegiance and Supervisor Ross gave the invocation.

# APPROVAL OF AGENDA

On a motion by Supervisor Ross and passed unanimously, the Board approved the agenda.

VOTE:

Ayes: 7 Frazier, Jett, Marshall, McLaughlin,

Ross, Skinner, Yakabouski

Nays: 0 Absent: 0 Abstain: 0

### **BUDGET PUBLIC HEARING**

Chairman Marshall read the following statement:

I hereby disclose I have an interest in the budget transaction as an employee of Spotsylvania County earning over \$5,000 annually. My disclosure is on file with the clerk and is available to the public for review. Ed/Aimee, please record this disclosure in the minutes of this meeting as required by law.

Supervisor Frazier read the following statement:

I hereby disclose I have an interest in the budget transaction as an employee of Spotsylvania County Schools earning over \$5,000 annually. My disclosure is on file with the clerk and is available to the public for review. Ed/Aimee, please record this disclosure in the minutes of this meeting as required by law.

Chairman Marshall opened the budget public hearing:

Staff read comments submitted by the public.

The following individuals gave an overview of Regional Agency programs and funding requests:

Dan Maher – Fredericksburg Regional Food Bank
Michelle Hedrick – Big Brothers Big Sisters Greater Fredericksburg
Janel Donahue – Rappahannock United Way
Dr. Joseph Feruson – New Freedom Clinic
Elizabeth Borst – Virginia Community Food Connections

The following citizens were in support of the proposed School Board budget: Richard Herrin, Michelle Herrin, Megan Parker, Bob MacDonald, Amber Belako, Scott Belako, Leanne Heaton, Dianne Holmes, Teresa Anderson, Stacy Hammer, Katie Simitoski, Gina Terry, Sara Payne, Janet Baker, Meggen Hasselhorst, Becky Petro, Carly Dunn, Katherine Earnhart, Kim Foster, Laura Hill, Karen Lynch, Susan Pearson, Aimee Mestler, Delana Chandler, Theresa Tempesta, Lynn Miller, Clifton Conway, Lauren Czekaj, Catherine Rusk, Hope Hichak, Erika Peters, Christopher Keith, Sarah French, Jackie Keith, Lisa Ehmer, Amy Clark, Clarence Collins, Dannie Ryan, Anthonly Lofaro, Nicole Cole, Dawn Napper, Kathryn Gregorio Palmer and Carol Lewter.

The following citizens were in opposition of a tax increase: Ed Blazek, Dustin Curtis, unidentified citizen email, Roy Searls, Neil Brown, Laura Morris, Dale Swanson and April Gillespie.

Chairman Marshall closed the public hearing.

### TAX RATE PUBLIC HEARING

Chairman Marshall opened the tax rate public hearing.

The following citizens were in support of the advertised tax rate: Richard Herrin, Michelle Herrin, Steven Terry and Nicole Cole.

The following citizen was in opposition of a tax increase: Jonathan Weidemann, Kathryn Gregorio Palmer and Anthony Lofaro.

Chairman Marshall closed the public hearing.

### **CIP PUBLIC HEARING**

Chairman Marshall opened the CIP public hearing.

The following citizen was in support of more discussion about prioritization and better forecasting: Anthony Lofaro.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

On a motion by Supervisor Yakabouski and passed unanimously, the Board adjourned its meeting at 8:24 p.m.

VOTE:

Ayes: 7 Frazier, Jett, Marshall, McLaughlin,

Ross, Skinner, Yakabouski

Nays: 0 Absent: 0

Abstain: 0

\_\_\_\_\_

Aimee R. Mann Deputy Clerk to the Board of Supervisors